38.1 C

MYRKUR Announce New Album, “Spine”


Last Updated on 08:24 by Giorgos Tsekas

Today, MYRKUR unfolds the next chapter in her personal mythology of Amalie Bruun, setting a new course for the enigmatic composer, multi-instrumentalist and vocalist.

Marked by the birth of her child, and a means of making sense of the storm of emotions in that wake, her forthcoming album Spine charts a new course for Bruun through the most turbulent period of her life to new territories beyond, free from genre constraints, and giving rise to a new range of emotional and sonic contours.

This time around, MYRKUR reunited with producer Randall Dunn in Sigur Rós‘s Icelandic Sundlaugin studio to negotiate the contrast between the deepest human connection of mother and child, and an increasingly disconnected, alienating world, from pandemic restrictions and isolation to the rise of Artificial Intelligence. But if the claustrophobia of lockdown made an impact on the album, musically it’s MYRKUR‘s most open yet – Bruun‘s pristine clear vocals a hyper-sensitive barometer, finely tuned to states where bliss, anxiety, grief, intimacy and psychic wanderlust co-exist, weaving wide-ranging traces of her musical background into rapt and tantalising new forms.

“Spine”‘s lead single, “Like Humans”, available today, is a blend of lush, airy textures and apprehension-inducing, pounding undertow, where Bruun‘s voice floats over the top as if from another dimension. Amalie reveals, “When I wrote “Like Humans” I felt very disconnected and isolated from the human race. The lack of touch and being in the first few years of motherhood forced me to become human in a way I never thought I would. Going through all of these changes at once made me desperately want to feel a connection with the earth and humans. Writing and recording this album helped me heal and succeed with that dream.”

“Spine” sees its release October 20 via Relapse Records on CD, Vinyl, and across all digital retailers worldwide.

“Spine” tracklisting:

01. “Balfaerd”
02. “Like Humans”
03. “Mothlike”
04. “My Blood Is Gold”
05. “Spine”
06. “Valkyriernes Sang”
07. “Blazing Sky”
08. “Devil In The Detail”
09. “Menneskebarn”

Related articles


Recent articles