35.6 C

BASTARÐUR sign to Season of Mist; announce album and release track


Last Updated on 04:54 PM by Giorgos Tsekas

Season of Mist are proud to announce the signing of BASTARÐUR, the crust punk project of SÓLSTAFIR singer/guitarist Aðalbjörn “Addi” Tryggvason and Birgir Jónsson. The band will be releasing its debut album, ‘Satan’s Loss of Son,’ on October 29, 2021. The first single, “Viral Tumor,” can be heard below. The track features guest guitar leads by Ragnar Zolberg and Thráinn Árni Baldvinsson as well as a bass solo from Flosi Þorgeirsson.

Tryggvason comments: “Four years after writing the first riff, two years after the main recording session, I am super happy to finally unleash this album into heavy metal land. It’s a childhood dream come true to make a full blown hm-2 crushing metal album. One might say, my personal tribute to Entombed and Motörhead.”

Singer/guitarist Aðalbjörn Tryggvason has always worn his vast musical influences on his sleeve. Be it an ENTOMBED sticker emblazoned on his guitar, queueing up Ennio Morricone before a set, or paying homage to Lemmy Kilmister with his cowboy sensibilities, it’s no secret that his love for music cannot be contained to any one genre. Now, Tryggvason is taking his adoration for crust punk to an exciting new level with his latest project, BASTARÐUR, which channels influences such as NAPALM DEATH, TERRORIZER, MOTÖRHEAD, and DISFEAR.

“The idea of writing death metal in the vein of old ENTOMBED came in 2018,” Tryggvason says on the project’s inception. “Not being able to channel my love for such music through my main band [SÓLSTAFIR], I began writing riffs, and riffs became songs, and all the sudden it had more crust punk elements than I had foreseen.” And yet, despite the apparent departure from SÓLSTAFIR’s sound, Tryggvason’s signature voice and brief moments of atmospheric texture color the record in familiar shades that ring true to his core musical identity.

The band was born during personal turmoil, a prime example of turning a negative situation into a positive opportunity. “Living with my parents after a relationship break up and being unemployed, I set up a small studio in my dad’s garage, and after a few months there was an album of material,” explains Tryggvason. “Me and my good mate Birgir Jónsson, most known for his work with Icelandic metal act DIMMA, had for years talked about making music together, and this seemed the perfect time, so we got ourselves into a studio with former SÓLSTAFIR live sound guy Jóhann and recorded the album in a few days.”

Tryggvason tapped several other co-conspirators to contribute towards his vision. Guest vocals are attributed to Marc Grewe (MORGOTH/INSIDIOUS DISEASE) and Alan Averill (PRIMORIDIAL), the latter of whom also penned the lyrics on two of the album’s tracks. Some of the blistering guitar solos were handled by Ragnar Zolberg, whom SÓLSTAFIR fans may know as he has filled in on bass for the band during occasional live shows, and Thrainn from SKÁLMÖLD. “I dare to call them Hanneman/King of Iceland,” Tryggvason says of the talented pair of axmen.

BASTARÐUR’s debut also takes a cue from Tryggvason’s distant musical past and rudimentary beginnings. “I used to be in a punk band called BÖLVUN, where I played drums,” he explains. “’Afturhalds Kommatittir’ is from that band, so we got Ingi Thor Pálsson and Flosi Þorgeirsson to play on that song. Flosi also does a bass solo on ‘Viral Tumor.’

Now, after three years in the making, BASTARÐUR is finally ready to make its debut via Season of Mist!

Style: Crust punk

Adalbjörn Tryggvason – Vocals/guitar/bass
Birgir Jónsson – Drums

Guest musicians:
Guest vocals on “Neonlight Blitzkrieg” by Marc Grewe
Vocals on “Black Flag Fools” by Alan Averill
Backing vocals on “Afturhalds Kommatittir” by Ásgeir Trausti, Júlli T and Siggi Hjálmur.
Guitar leads on “Burn” by Ragnar Zolberg
Guitar leads on “Neonlight Blitzkrieg” by Thrainn Árni Baldvinsson
Guitar leads on “Viral Tumor” by Ragnar Zolberg and Thráinn Árni Baldvinsson
Bass solo on “Viral Tumor” by Flosi Þorgeirsson


  1. Viral Tumor (03:37)
  2. Neonlight Blitzkrieg (04:20)
  3. Satan’s Loss of Son (03:21)
  4. Burn (03:30)
  5. The Whispering Beast (03:41)
  6. Black Flag Fools (02:38)
  7. Afturhalds Kommatittir (02:53)
  8. Rise Up (04:20)

Total: 0:28:20

Pre-orders are available now in the Season of Mist shop HERE.

Related articles

Traitor – Shot Down EP


Recent articles


Kerry King – From Hell I Rise