Last Updated on 10:50 AM by Nikos Nakos

GATECREEPER’s “Dark Superstition” is leading a new wave of American Death Metal.

Their sprawling third full-length, and label debut for Nuclear Blast, is more concise, melodic, and memorable than anything they’ve ever done. It’s a pivotal moment which sees vocalist Chase H. Mason, guitarists Eric Wagner and Israel Garza, drummer Metal Matt Arrebollo and bassist Alex Brown carving out their own path.

“Dark Superstition” deals with the supernatural, divination, fear of the unknown, and trust in magic or chance. “Many of the songs incorporate supernatural ideas with my own experiences,” Mason says. “But the title itself is a reference to the Superstition Mountains in our home state of Arizona. It’s a beautiful mountain range surrounded by tragedy and legends of hidden fortune.”

The album’s intricate lead single, “The Black Curtain” leans heavily in a Rock direction, and embodies “Dark Superstition”’s themes with a tale of divination. “It’s about being trapped between living and dying,” Mason tells. “A soul trapped in purgatory begging to be brought back by a supernatural force.” “The Black Curtain” is available today alongside a video directed by Max Moore. Watch below.

The album sees its release May 17 via Nuclear Blast Records.



“Dark Superstition” tracklisting:

01. “Dead Star”
02. “Oblivion”
03. “The Black Curtain”
04. “Masterpiece Of Chaos”
05. “Superstitious Vision”
06. “A Chilling Aura”
07. “Caught In The Treads”
08. “Flesh Habit”
09. “Mistaken For Dead”
10. “Tears Fall From The Sky”