in mourning, doom, melodic death, sweden, 2016, agonia records

After having revealed details surrounding their new album “Afterglow“, Sweden’s melodic death/doom metallers In Mourning have today unveiled the first new song off the record. Titled “Below Rise To The Above”, the track is available in the form of a lyric video, here:

The band’s fourth studio album “Afterglow” will be released on May 20th worldwide via Agonia Records. The cover artwork was made by Kristian Båhlin (Bathory, Tiamat, King Diamond).

In Mourning commented: 

“The new album is called “Afterglow” and its story takes off from where “The Weight Of Oceans” ends. It’s a bit more complex than our previous albums and it has got a bit of a different sound than the older ones, a bit more alive like a band and maybe not always as studio corrected as our earlier material. However, the foundation of the music is still what we’ve always done and the key elements are pretty much the same but with some new additions and a few new twists and turns of course”.

This will be the first album featuring new drummer, Daniel Liljekvist (ex-Katatonia). “Afterglow” has been recorded between November 2015 and March 2016 in Nordin Music Studios (drums) and Libra Studios (guitar, bass and vocals). Mixing and mastering duties have been handeled by Jonas Martinsson in Necrosavant Studio.

in mourning, sweden, doom, melodic death, agonia records, 2016, progressive

‘Afterglow’ tracklist:
1. Fire And Ocean
2. The Grinning Mist
3. Ashen Crown
4. Below Rise To The Above
5. The Lighthouse Keeper
6. The Call To Orion
7. Afterglow