Notorious Swedish black metal collective WATAIN is proud to unleash “The Howling” – the first single from their upcoming new studio album, “The Agony & Ecstasy Of Watain,” which will be released on April 29th, 2022.

The Howling” sets the tone for what will be offered on the band’s 7th full-length, an unsettling blackened voyage in 10 chapters that is as inexorably vicious as it is enticing.

E. Danielsson (vocals) adds:
“The Howling refers to the wordless voice of the wild, wailing eerily through the ages, urging us to leave our safe spaces and explore the dark recesses of the great Abyss both within and without. To see it, to learn from it, to know it. “

The single is available in both digital and physical form – a strictly limited 7” with “The Howling” on its A-side and the Profanatica cover “I Arose” on its B-side can be bought as of today (no pre-order!). The Black Vinyl is exclusively available through Nuclear Blast Mailorder, whereas the Oxblood colored version is being sold in the band’s own shop.

“The Agony & Ecstasy Of Watain” track-list:

01 – “Ecstasies In Night Infinite”
02 – “The Howling”
03 – “Serimosa”
04 – “Black Cunt”
05 – “Leper’s Grace”
06 – “Not Sun Nor Man Nor God”
07 – “Before The Cataclysm”
08 – “We Remain”
09 – “Funeral Winter”
10 – “Septentrion”