Finland’s Whispered, the masters of ‘Samurai Metal’ are back with third album ‘Metsutan – Songs of the Void’, which is set for release on May 20th through Redhouse FMP/Inverse Records. The band seamlessly fuse traditional Japanese instruments and atmospheres with Scandinavian melodic death making for a captivating listening experience throughout the album’s ten tracks.

Artwork handled by Japanese artist TOK and emphasises the story of the last and longest song on the album ‘Bloodred Shores Of Enoshima’, which is based on a Japanese mythology telling of a certain dragon and the goddess Benzaiten.

whispered, melodic death, finland, news, 2016

Track Listing:

  1. 血ノ舞 – Chi No Odori
  2. Strike!
  3. Exile of the Floating World
  4. Sakura Omen
  5. 劍聖 – Kensei
  6. Our Voice Shall Be Heard
  7. 月明 – Tsukiakari
  8. Warriors of Yama
  9. Victory Grounds Nothing
  10. Bloodred Shores of Enoshima

In case you’ve missed last year’s lyric video of ‘Sakura Omen’: